Gilles Peterson Guest Toro Y Moi - Worldwide (BBC Radio1) 2013.01.26

Gilles is joined by a man who first came to prominence as part of the US Chillwave movement of 2010. Hailing from South Carolina, 25 year old Toro Y Moi, also known as Chaz Bundick, released his debut album on Carpark Records, with the follow up, Underneath The Pine, garnering further praise in 2011. With his hotly awaited new release, Anything In Return, Gilles and Chaz talk about the new material, and his influences which include Lonnie Liston Smith and The Headhunters, as well as slipping in an exclusive first play of a new Les Sins track. There's also new music from Disclosure, Four Tet and Tony Allen, alongside classics from Fela Kuti, Leon Thomas and Hawthorne Headhunters, with a cheeky Do Over featuring Black Eyed Peas' sampling of Stark Reality also in the mix.

Plus, we hear from Machine Drum who played at the Worldwide Awards at Koko in London last weekend

Gilles Peterson has a skill for joining the musical dots, linking the musical heritage of the past with the progressive innovation of the future, and drawing upon his distinguished career as a DJ and A&R man.
He plays three hours of soul, hip-hop, house, Afro, Latin, electronica, jazz and beyond, with interviews and sessions from legends of the scene as well as the leaders of the new school.

Alexander Barck - Reset [Marlow Remix]
Applescal - Spring & Life [Wise Man's Garden]
Short Stories - On The Way [Young Turks]

Toro Y Moi In Session At Maida Vale

Toro y Moi - High Living [Carpark]

Hawthorne Headhunters - Do 4 U [HVW8 Records]
Tokimonsta - The World Is Ours [Brainfeeder]
Steve Parks - Movin’ In The Right Direction [Solid Smoke Records]

The Do Over

The Black Eyed Peas - Audio Delite At Low Fidelity [A&M Records]
Stark Reality - Comrades [AJP Records]

Leon Thomas - China Doll [BGP]
Pablo - Feels Like [Project AIEEE]
Bodhi - Culture [Grizzly]
Four Tet - For This Time [Nonplus]
Matmos - Mental Radio [Thrill Jockey]
TOKiMONSTA - The Force [White]
Oscar + Martin - Recognise [Two Bright Lakes]
Hav Lyf - Untitled Track 22 [Sonic Router]
Tony Allen & Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra - Meus Filhos [Comet]
Fela Kuti - Trouble Sleep Yanga Wake Am [Wrasse]
Oliver Lake - Africa [Arista]
MC Solaar - Qui Seme Le Vent Recolte Le Tempo [Polydor]
Veence Hanao - Chasse & Peche [White]

Toro Y Moi Words & Music

Toro y Moi - Harm In Change [Carpark]
Toro y Moi - Saturday Love [Carpark]
Toro y Moi - Say That [Carpark]
Les Sins - Fetch [Jiaolong]
Les Sins - Grind [White Label]
Toro y Moi - So Many Details [Carpark]
Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes - Beautiful Woman [RCA]
The Headhunters - If You’ve Got It, You’ll Get It [Arista]
Toro y Moi - Studies [Carpark]
Komonazmuk - Walk The Walk [Applepips]
Disclosure - White Noise (Dub) [PMR]
Disclosure - White Noise (Vocal) [PMR]
London Grammar - Hey Now [Opus]
Charlie Winston - Unlike Me [Real World Recordings]
Laura Mvula - Green Garden [RCA]

Machine Drum At The Worldwide Awards

Fracture & Neptune - Clissold Park [Machine Drum Remix]

Machine Drum - Door Of The Cosmos [Allcity]
Stella Levitt - Note So High [Polydor]
Leon Thomas - Um Um Um [BGP]
FaltyDL - Finally The Rain Stopped [Ninja Tune]
Bruk Boogie Project - Aforsa [Broadcite Productions]
Todd Terje & Lindstrom - Vossakorv [Olsen/Smalltown Supersound]

follow deepgoa on, Tumblr, SoundCloud, RSS and MixCloud